Excellence in Mentorship Award

2 January 2019

ASECS Graduate Student Caucus Excellence in Mentorship Award

The ASECS Graduate Student Caucus Excellence in Mentorship Award was established by the Society’s Executive Board in 2007 at the behest of the Graduate Student Caucus in order to honor faculty who have taught, led, and motivated their students in the study of the long eighteenth century. The GSC Award committee thus invites nominations for candidates who have a distinguished record as teachers, mentors, and advisors.

The GSC will look most favorably upon nominations that can demonstrate the following: the candidate’s commitment to their students’ short- and long-term goals, their effectiveness in helping students to navigate graduate school coursework and requirements, their ability to guide and inspire students in the exchange of ideas, research and writing; their success in seeking and securing opportunities for their mentees, such as conference presentations, publications, fellowships, and/or grant awards.

The awards committee will consist of two members of the Graduate Student Caucus and a member of the Executive Board who acts as liaison with the GSC. The nominator must be a member of ASECS; the recipient need not be at the time of the award, but is expected to be a member the following year and to participate in the GSC professionalization panel in 2020.  

Submission Information

One person (not a current student/advisee of the nominee) should serve as the organizer for a candidate’s nomination. This individual should write one of the nomination letters, procure the nominee’s C.V., solicit the additional letters of support, and submit the materials.

Nominations should include:

  1. Three letters of support. Letters should discuss the ways in which the nominee has supported and fostered the teaching and scholarly/professional goals of mentees and should describe specific instances that demonstrate their qualities as an effective mentor. Letters may come from former students, from colleagues, collaborators, and others qualified to speak to the nomination. Together the letters should provide evidence for the range, excellence, consistency, and salutary impact of the nominee’s mentoring history. The maximum length for each letter is two single-spaced pages.
  1. The nominee’s 5-page C.V. The nomination organizer should highlight, and where necessary explain, items that are particularly relevant to the Mentorship Award.

Deadline and Notification

Nominations must be submitted via email to the chair of the ASECS Graduate Student Caucus (asecs.gradcaucus[at]gmail.com). Henceforth, the call for nominees will be posted in December each year. The deadline for applications is February 1, 2019. By February 15, the award recipient will be informed of their selection by the Graduate Student Caucus chair, and the winner’s name will be posted on the Graduate Student Caucus website. The winner of the award will be recognized at the ASECS annual meeting and will be expected to present on the Graduate Student Caucus’s professional development panel at the annual meeting in the following year.




Fall 2017

In solidarity with Professor Seo-Young Chu, our colleagues on the Executive Board and throughout the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies, the Graduate Student Caucus is committed to the ongoing development of policies making explicit our unequivocal opposition to all forms of harassment, discrimination, and abuse. We deeply regret and sincerely apologize for the violence enacted in the 2009 naming of our Graduate Student Mentorship Award in honour of Jay Fliegelman, and we are grateful to Professor Chu for coming forward with her experience. The ASECS Graduate Student Caucus is dedicated to fostering a culture of equity, and condemns the sexual violence and abuses of power committed by Jay Fliegelman. Please read Professor Chu’s essay “A Refuge for Jae-in Doe: Fugues in the Key of English Major”, and the recent “ASECS Executive Board Statement on Harassment and Abuse”.

– ASECS Graduate Student Caucus